- 1 Is cycling an instant or sorcery?
- 2 Is cycling a special action?
- 3 Is cycling an ability?
- 4 Does cycling count as drawing?
- 5 Is basic cycling a Landcycle?
- 6 Can you respond to cycling?
- 7 Does cycling count for Zirda?
- 8 Does Zirda reduce cycling cost?
- 9 Does Zirda affect cycling?
- 10 Should I discard a card or cycle?
- 11 Does cycling go on the stack?
- 12 Can you cycle your commander?
- 13 Is kicker an activated ability?
Is cycling an instant or sorcery?
Cycling can be used at instant speed. Abilities can be used at instant speed by default, and sorcery timing restrictions have to be printed on the card or be in the rules/reminder text for that permanent’s abilities.
Is cycling a special action?
Cycling is an activated ability, not a special action; it can be Stifled just fine, and it goes on the stack, you can’t respond to Split Second with it, etc.
Is cycling an ability?
No, Cycling is an activated ability that you can only use while the card is in your hand. Casting a spell requires that you pay a cards mana cost printed in the upper right of the card. 702.27a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand.
Does cycling count as drawing?
Yes, cycling is “discard a card, draw a card”. Any triggers happing for discard and draw will happen with cycling.
Is basic cycling a Landcycle?
Landcycling is a form of cycling, so it will trigger Astral Slide’s “when a player cycles ” ability.
Can you respond to cycling?
Yes. It is an activated ability. It can be stifled as well. 502.18a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand.
Does cycling count for Zirda?
Zirda, the Dawnwaker rulings: 2020-04-17: Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities are activated abilities (such as cycling ) and will have colons in their reminder text.
Does Zirda reduce cycling cost?
Yes, that works how you want it. When there are multiple cost reductions to apply to casting a spell or activating an ability, you can apply them in any order you’d like. So, just have the reduction from Zirda apply, then Fluctuator, and you end up with a cycling cost of 0.
Does Zirda affect cycling?
It is powerful with cycling, but not in a cycling deck – because it prohibits Lightning Rift, Fluctuator, Spirit Cairn, and most of the payoffs.
Should I discard a card or cycle?
Whenever you cycle or discard a card, target creature an opponent controls gets -2/-0 until end of turn. (If you discard this card, discard it into exile. When you do, cast it for its madness cost or put it into your graveyard.)
Does cycling go on the stack?
does cycling use the stack and be responded to? Yes, it’s an activated ability. Yes, the triggers are put on the stack above the activation prior to your opponent getting priority. Technically, it triggers on you paying the cost of the activation as you’re in the process of activating it.
Can you cycle your commander?
This version of the cycling Commander deck focuses on going wide in combat, using cycling as an opportunity to create as many tokens as possible. You can also turn it into a control deck, using spells like Nimble Obstructionist and Decree of Silence.
Is kicker an activated ability?
Kicker is not an activated ability. This is a static ability that functions while the spell is on the stack and suggests a one-time payment. But this does not allow you to activate abilities with activation limit like “Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery”.